Paper Proposal Review Form


Paper Submission Review
Start Over

04/03/2024

bonniethigpen

RE: Student Proposals Assessment for Joshua Bremerman Paper Titles:

• ‘Gain’ (ִיּ ְתרוֹן ) Versus ‘Reward’ (ֵ֫ח ֶלק ) in Ecclesiastes: What’s the Difference?
• “Holy Meat, Dead Bodies, and the Transmission of Holiness: How Jesus Reverses Haggai
2:10–14 in Mark 5:21–43

To Whom It May Concern:
I am writing to encourage you to accept one of Josh Bremerman’s two proposals for presentation at the 2024 ETS annual meeting in San Diego, CA. Bremerman is an exceptional student who has been thinking about and teaching both Ecclesiastes and Haggai for a long time. I was his mentor at Bethlehem College & Seminary, and he is now readying to write his PhD dissertation under me PhD at MBTS. He supplied a strong presentation at ETS last year, and I am confident that either of he will do exceptionally well at either of these two proposals.
I have talked to Bremerman a lot about both books, and I have read papers from him on both as well. Option 1 builds on his presentation at ETS from last year, providing a more direct response to one of the questions raised by wisdom scholar Christopher Ansbery. His second paper grows out of thoughtful wrestling with Haggai during his own teaching of a course related to the book that he has taught overseas many times. Neither paper is yet complete, but the abstracts are solid, and I know that the results will be excellent.
Josh is a great student, researcher, and writer; he speaks with confidence, wit, and humility. He treasures Christ and writes for the church. He will do an exceptional job at ETS, and I strongly encourage you to accept one of his papers for presentation this fall.
Sincerely,
Jason S. DeRouchie, PhD
Research Professor of Old Testament and Biblical Theology 763-222-8077
jderouchie@mbts.edu
5001 North Oak Trafficway Kansas City, MO 64118
800.944.MBTS (6287) 816.414.3744 mbts.edu

04/03/2024

bonniethigpen

RE: Student Proposals Assessment for Joshua Bremerman Paper Titles:

• ‘Gain’ (ִיּ ְתרוֹן ) Versus ‘Reward’ (ֵ֫ח ֶלק ) in Ecclesiastes: What’s the Difference?
• “Holy Meat, Dead Bodies, and the Transmission of Holiness: How Jesus Reverses Haggai
2:10–14 in Mark 5:21–43

To Whom It May Concern:
I am writing to encourage you to accept one of Josh Bremerman’s two proposals for presentation at the 2024 ETS annual meeting in San Diego, CA. Bremerman is an exceptional student who has been thinking about and teaching both Ecclesiastes and Haggai for a long time. I was his mentor at Bethlehem College & Seminary, and he is now readying to write his PhD dissertation under me PhD at MBTS. He supplied a strong presentation at ETS last year, and I am confident that either of he will do exceptionally well at either of these two proposals.
I have talked to Bremerman a lot about both books, and I have read papers from him on both as well. Option 1 builds on his presentation at ETS from last year, providing a more direct response to one of the questions raised by wisdom scholar Christopher Ansbery. His second paper grows out of thoughtful wrestling with Haggai during his own teaching of a course related to the book that he has taught overseas many times. Neither paper is yet complete, but the abstracts are solid, and I know that the results will be excellent.
Josh is a great student, researcher, and writer; he speaks with confidence, wit, and humility. He treasures Christ and writes for the church. He will do an exceptional job at ETS, and I strongly encourage you to accept one of his papers for presentation this fall.
Sincerely,
Jason S. DeRouchie, PhD
Research Professor of Old Testament and Biblical Theology 763-222-8077
jderouchie@mbts.edu
5001 North Oak Trafficway Kansas City, MO 64118
800.944.MBTS (6287) 816.414.3744 mbts.edu

04/16/2024

richard.hess

I cannot endorse a paper which does not follow the basic parameters. The entire abstract is more than 3 times the maximum length. Even with the bibliography discounted, it is more than twice as long. As much as I would like to recommend the abstract, I cannot endorse it for this reason.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

This sounds like an interesting comparison with an important W Semitic text.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

I think this is an interesting idea and method. I would like to learn more.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

I feel as though some of this has been done before but I think the overall thesis and methods serve as a good one.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

This sounds fascinating and worth hearing.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

This is a very creative idea. I don’t find the method convincing in terms of what the abstract indicates.

04/16/2024

richard.hess

This is a fascinating proposal. If successful , it will provide important evidence. I would like to hear it. My concern is that I don’t see indications of a strong argument in terms to new evidence.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

A fascinating sounding paper.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Too obscure, I fear.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Too obscure, I fear.
My first ranking was one star and somehow it turned out to be three. Hence this attempt to correct that.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

worthy of inclusion

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Include only if there is room.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Sounds promising. Could be put together with other papers on religious liberty.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Not really church history.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Not really church history. I give this a one star rating.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Include.

04/16/2024

Michael Haykin

Does not appear to offer anything new. One star rating.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

I have had a couple of conversations with Charles about his Hosea research. He has real sense of the importance of establishing “dependence” as well as how to frame influence “influence.”

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5 stars

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5 stars

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5 stars

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5 stars. Theory heavy, but an important issue of the relationship between the authority of the teachings of Messiah and the authority of Israel’s scriptures for NT authors.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5 stars. Eclectic method. Connection broad.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5 stars. Over-reading context?

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5 stars. Seems a thematic method versus a concrete allusion.

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

Does fit with our theme. Concerned the fellow can’t spell Jeroboam, but the rest of it may be helpful

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

Might be interesting, but doesn’t fit our theme this year. At least this person is doing work in a more synthetic theme across Scripture.

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

This does get to our theme and may be a helpful conversation starter for considering simplistic embracing of “biblical texts” for political purposes. At the same time it may prompt concerns of anti-semitism.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

Interesting and has potential but I’d like to see a thesis.

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

This certainly fits into our theme and will step on some toes bringing insights not only for the West but also drawing from situations in the Global South.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

has potential. could be a good paper

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like an infomercial for Ancient Egypt and the Bible yet could be interesting paper

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

I am rather interested in this piece of research, even though it does not fit within our theme for this year. It shows engagement across the theological disciplines but is firmly rooted in new insights arising from a biblical theologian.

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

I am biased of course, but this would be a great paper in a series on political theology within the Biblical witness. It is not as engaged with the modern era, but does focus attention on the OT witness which was the focus of our call for papers.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

Proposal could be clearer; awkwardly worded at time. I also wonder about the relevance; I’ve not heard much about TM since the 1970s.

04/17/2024

glanierbcg

Sounds fine to me. Would be nice to have a more clear statement of a thesis, but I’m good with it.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

I’d be interested in hearing more, although I wonder what is new here.

04/17/2024

glanierbcg

Sounds excellent.

04/17/2024

glanierbcg

Sounds fine and will fit nicely with the other paper on the Hexapla

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

This does look at a key issue in Ecclesiastes. Although it is focused mostly on an issue within a particular book (which we have been reticent to accept in recent years) it does investigate an issue that relates to the intersection between Torah and Wisdom in general. It does not fit within our call for papers on political theology, but could fit within a general session if we have one.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

sounds like a good topic and an important message

04/17/2024

Mark Boda

This one seems to take on far too much for a single paper. I have little confidence this will result in much scholarly help.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

The opening is a bit off-putting but the topic has potential. I doubt there is anything new here but the reminder that the Spirit has given artists to the church could be helpful.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

full disclosure: I know Paul and trust his work. [I am not sure how I would have read this had the proposal been blind; it annoys me that ETS still does not do blind review.]

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

If rhetoric is language used in persuasion then what is persuasive rhetoric? The quality of the abstract might provide a hint to the quality of the paper.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

I love the topic; wish the abstract had a thesis.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

sounds like a book proposal not a 30 minute paper. Also, does not follow instructions for an abstract.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

i am interested in hearing more

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

ovine? Had to look that one up. This is an ambitious project but could have potential

04/17/2024

jenbjones

Sounds potentially interesting. I agree that a clearer thesis would be helpful.

04/17/2024

jenbjones

Well thought out proposal on an interesting topic.

04/17/2024

jenbjones

Solid proposal dealing at a higher conceptual level than we often have. John’s work is always interesting and this sounds like it will be as well.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

History certainly shows the practice of confession and the “trifold sequence” in corporate worship, but I don’t think the NT does. Hence, while it may be a helpful element, it is hard to argue that it is an essential one.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Would be interesting to hear him make his case.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Perhaps belongs better in another section? e.g., Practical Theology, Spiritual Formation

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Interesting idea, but not sure it breaks any new ground.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Seems of a philosophical bent perhaps more suited to another section. Don’t see “Bible” entering in too much.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

There seems to be little “Bible” involved, therefore of less interest to our section.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

I always appreciate Matthew’s contributions, and this looks like an interesting, important, and practical study.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

I’m not sure the co-author’s name would fit in the program or on a nametag!! 🙂

Not sure this breaks any new ground.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

See comment on other instance of this proposal. However, given the professor’s strong endorsement, and in view of encouraging more diversity and international involvement, perhaps we should consider this one.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

His point is well taken, but not to the extent that we want to “correct scriptural exegesis towards closer alignment with popular, commonplace Christian practice”!

04/17/2024

ronald.man

The insistence on the “nature of worship” as having “the proper heart posture before God” is certainly not a new idea, though bringing “stiff-necked” into the discussion may be.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

I think this is a particularly relevant topic in our day.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

Seems a very ambitious project. I am not convinced this is a 25-30 minute presentation.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

I wish there was a thesis. The quality of the abstract does not give me great confidence in the quality of the paper.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

I love and support the inclusion of this paper on the program but not in our session. Papers by committee members are “frowned upon” by the executive committee.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

not really a fit for our section.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

not a fit for our section

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Do we accept previously published papers??

If you want to see the whole paper: https://swbts.edu/wp-content/uploads/2023/11/Worship-and-Spiritual-Transformation.pdf

Not sure this breaks any new ground.

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

student submissions require a faculty recommendation

04/17/2024

glenn.kreider

not a fit for our section. I’m tempted to change my rating for this type of submission to the lowest possible; shouldn’t basic reading of instructions be assumed?

04/17/2024

ronald.man

This would certainly add something new to our discussions, and be in line with the conference theme of “Global Christianity.”

04/17/2024

ronald.man

This is a very relevant topic.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Seems like a very relevant and timely study.

04/17/2024

Martin Klauber

Great topic – fits in well with the invited session’s theme on pastoral care.

04/17/2024

Martin Klauber

Great topic – I would recommend

04/17/2024

ronald.man

This is another very relevant topic.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

This is a laudable goal, and it would be interesting to see what “practical strategies and actionable steps” he proposes.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

An interesting concept, but the implication that textual study and authority is somehow out of step is a bridge too far.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

An interesting and relevant topic, with a strong recommendation from Matthew.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Not sure how much biblical content will be involved here.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

His view is based on patristic and other historical grounds (as well as theological), but I’m not sure there is sufficient scriptural warrant for what he suggests.

04/17/2024

ronald.man

Interesting, but perhaps better for another section. Would prefer a biblical argument over a Tolkien argument!

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is interesting, though I wonder if it might be a better fit in a practical theology session since it address the intramural counseling debate primarily and the doctrine of Scripture more secondarily.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Last year’s paper was good and I know that he is drawing others together for a special journal issue on this topic. This could be a strong paper that addresses a core issue related to inerrancy.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

x

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

It wonder if this doesn’t confuse to some extent inspiration and illumination. At least I would have liked to have seen a discussion of the role of illumination since the issue raised is over interpretation not the production of the text itself.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like a very good paper for our unit.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This paper is a good fit and seeing an engagement with Webster’s work would be welcome.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

This is an important book, worthy of close examination.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

The abstract is thin on specifics. It doesn’t cite any of the recent readings that are deficient, give the glosses that are in mind which are deficient, or any examples of the application heavy approaches that miss the relevant contextual clues. It also lacks a clear thesis as to what understanding of the term will be offered as a result of the outlined study.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Although Webb’s work is well known, the abstract does not mention addressing any critiques of Webb’s hermeneutic before making use of it in this context.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Worthy topic

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Wonderful proposal. Is Method the best session?

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is an intriguing paper on texts that are often only situated eschatologically. The engagement with Israeli and Palestinian situated interpretations fits nicely within this year’s theme.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Worthy topic

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Interesting

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Very ambitious paper

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Excellent topic for our session

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This paper does not address the annual theme in any significant way.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Looks promising

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like a sober assessment of the existing data on scribal culture and its implications for Israel’s scribal potential in the early biblical period.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like an excellent study that is well connected to the literature.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Certainly a current issue.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Intriguing topic

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Given the author’s dissertation work in Deuteronomy he is well situated to pursue this study. It would have been nice to have more information on the methodology for determining Deuteronomy’s reflection of Gen–Num in the abstract.

04/17/2024

kenneth.keathley

Fantastic topic. Does it fit well with Method?

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

It is unclear how this paper is connected this year’s theme.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is a classic issue in interpretation of the law. It would have been good to see more of a connection to the literature in the abstract, but the suggested approach is worth exploration.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like a good study that engages a significant and challenging theological question.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

I’m not sure the ETS crowd would be all that interested in this topic.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

The abstract is thin and lacks a clear thesis of what the paper will ultimately argue or how it adds to the existing literature on the topic.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

Somewhat interesting and certainly well researched, but the conclusion seems obvious: read according to history and language/socio-linguistics.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

mid

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

Interesting topic. It feels a little outdated but I think it could be helpful to hear someone bring research on typology and allegory together in one place.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

Sounds like it is well done, but I’m not sure people would be interested in such a specific study of one person.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Although the abstract clearly delineates the proposed exodus patterns in Genesis, there is no methodological discussion of why these early events should be read as types or of any indications in either Exodus or the latter prophets that the exodus was presented in light of these earlier stories (e.g. allusion, echo, etc.). The idea is very interesting, but the abstract is weak with regards to methodology.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

Good recommendation from the sponsoring prof.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

Very well done. Specific, tight thesis, deals with a textual issue.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5. This is a thoughtful proposal about a difficult passage. The expected conclusion anticipates removing all problems, which seems too optomistic.

04/17/2024

Patrick Schreiner

I was a little unsure of what was happening in this one.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is a very interesting approach to a classic problem. His recent publication on Hag 2 utilizing valency suggests that this has good potential to be a robust paper.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5. Clear, controlled, interesting.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

4 of 5. This looks like it has potential, though the proposal does not spell out the biblical connections that will help.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

5 of 5. Clear, good evidence. Promising.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5. This is an important subject. Promising anticipated conclusion.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5. This looks like it has potential. Yet, it is unclear from the proposal what the larger implications are if the results are positive.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5. Potential, but loose methodology.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

2 of 5 (I would vote 2.5 if I could). The topic has potential and is interesting. However, it is not clear that this has an adequate goal of working with the biblical text.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

3 of 5. The strength of this proposal is the proposal progression in the narrative. But because it is focused on Saul the proposal only mentions one of three Saul killed 1k vs. David 10k, this makes it seem selective in evaluating evidence. This topic focused on the book of Samuel seems like it could have more promise to then focus on music and Saul.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

2 of 5. The general idea is useful. But over-reading Persian art. Rejoicing at tabernacles in Neh 8:9 seems like obedience to Deut 16:14 not the sculptures on the stairway at Persepolis.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

2 of 5. The proposal is very broad and it is not clear if there is adequate evidence to support the proposal. Killing a lion like the Assyrian royal lion hunt?

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

1 of 5. The proposal does not seem to have a thesis in mind.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

1 of 5. Too broad, and thematic.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

2 of 5. Interesting premise. The methods seem to take center-stage over the text.

04/17/2024

gary.schnittjer

1 of 5. Thematic. If text-based, it could be interesting.

04/17/2024

brian.toews

Looks pretty interesting, though I think he’ll have a hard time convincing me that the psalms are sequential somehow.

04/17/2024

brian.toews

Not enough here – especially his plan to “integrate and synthesize.”

04/17/2024

brian.toews

A bit confusing.

04/17/2024

brian.toews

Does he need all the discussion about the verbal system to get to his topic that Ps 8 expands the scope ….?

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This has potential, but it is unclear what is meant by constructing a biblical theology in the context of the proposal.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is an interesting suggestion and one that merits a hearing at the annual meeting.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Interpretation of Song is a perennial issue. The suggestion of a wisdom reading is not new. It would have been good to have more engagement with the literature in the abstract to better situate the proposal.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

It is unclear from the abstract how the text indicates that Daniel and friends relied on Josiah’s reform as a foundation for their trust in God. The historical situation is clear but literary links to this interpretation are missing from the abstract.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

The equation of dust (עפר) in Gen 2 to clay (חמר) elsewhere and then definitive assertion of theophany as the means of creation seems contrived and not sufficiently grounded in the textual details. There may be something to the idea that is worth exploration, but the abstract is not sufficiently developed to warrant placement in the program.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like a thoughtful interdisciplinary investigation of a perennial issues in the interpretation of Chronicles.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This looks like a strong paper. My only concern is the ability to address the entirety of the thesis in the time alloted for a paper at the annual meeting.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This should be an excellent paper on an important topic.

04/17/2024

Garry Graves

Is this primarily a book review? Appears a bit ambitious.

04/17/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This paper would be better suited for a practical theology session, or a homiletics session.

04/17/2024

Garry Graves

An America First theme fits well with the first step in the Great Commission. Could be interesting.

04/18/2024

christopher.ansberry

While this proposal raises many questions (e.g., the concept of the absurd (Camus?), the eschatological perspective of the frame narrator, etc.), it pairs well with some of the other proposals in the section and possesses the promise for constructive development and discussion.

04/18/2024

christopher.ansberry

This is an excellent proposal that promises to bring clarity and theological precision to creation theology in Ecclesiastes.

04/18/2024

christopher.ansberry

This is a solid proposal that promises to bring hermeneutical and thematic clarity to Ecclesiastes through Qohelet’s contested persona.

04/18/2024

christopher.ansberry

This is an interesting proposal that is attentive to some of the key metaphors in the Song. The distinction between patricentrism and egalitarianism remains unclear to me. And the presumed hierarchy within a patricentric model is confusing to me. Nonetheless, I would welcome this paper.

04/18/2024

christopher.ansberry

This is an interesting proposal that uses Isaiah 28 and its discourse on farming techniques as a lens through which to evaluate general revelation in wisdom literature. But it lacks an awareness of certain theological concepts (order in creation and its implications), key texts in wisdom literature that serve as points of reference, and agricultural wisdom from the ancient world (e.g., Gezer tablet, The Farmer’s Instruction, etc.).

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Interesting approach with strong recommendation.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Timely and important.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Needs more focus.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Doesn’t demonstrate rigorous scholarly engagement. Not sure what this adds.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Interesting approach to the topic. A little concerning that the recommender didn’t read the paper and also hasn’t read any longer work by the author.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Interesting approach to interact with a specific book to draw out and analyze these themes.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Interesting and thorough in approach.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Promising approach to utilize Bonhoeffer’s thinking for a contemporary ethical challenge.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Interesting approach, but not as groundbreaking as some other proposals seem potentially to be.

04/18/2024

jwshatzer

Helpful to define “human-centered,” but needs a bit more focus, I think.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

This is nice close reading of the text with an interesting suggestion both in terms of understanding the Hebrew and the text’s overall role in the book.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Interesting topic that is not often discussed.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

We have a relative dearth of work on Chronicles in the OT sections each year. It would be good to have a strong paper like this one included in the program.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Solid proposal on a common topic, but with the advantage of applying a method that may help clarify the uses of these phrases.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Clear approach to a classic problem.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

The proposal is interesting and timely, but the omission of Zehnder’s The Bible and Immigration (2021) and his prior work Umgang mit Fremden in Israel und Assyrien is significant.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

Looks like an excellent paper.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

It’s unclear what this paper would contribute beyond the survey.

04/18/2024

jmichaelthigpen

The breadth of the proposed paper is too much for a paper. This feels like a one paper distillation of a much larger work. It would be good if it were presented over time with individual papers focusing on narrow groups of devices.

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks very optimistic. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

not a clear thesis. Not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like a very ambitious project. Not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

nice proposal. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

not clear what the thesis is.

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks interesting but I don’t see a clear thesis

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic but I am not sure what the thesis is. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

student proposals must have professor endorsement

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic and good proposal

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

Proposal could have been clearer. not a fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like a very ambitious project. not a good fit for our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like a very ambitious project.

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

correlation is not necessarily causation. I am not impressed by the proposal. It does not fit our section

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

i like this one and it fits our section

04/18/2024

Brian Gault

Excellent! Bradley has done much thinking about Ecclesiastes, and this looks to be another fine paper.

04/18/2024

Brian Gault

This proposal is coherent and clearly written, evaluating possible reasons for Qoheleth’s shifting perspectives.

04/18/2024

Brian Gault

This proposal lacks coherence, argumentation and supporting evidence.

04/18/2024

Brian Gault

While the topic is trendy, reading the Song through a patricentric lens appears to be motivated by issues outside the text, without adequate explanation of what is in the text.

04/18/2024

Brian Gault

Although I’m not sure there is much new here, this proposal best aligns with others on Ecclesiastes.

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

looks very ambitious for a 30 minute paper

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

seems to be making sweeping claims

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

highly ambitious

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic and its global focus fits the theme

04/18/2024

glenn.kreider

I wonder how many “progressives” have read Gutierrez. correlation is not causation

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

The topic is coherent and clear. This is a Baptist topic; in years past we have been overwhelmed with Baptist papers. I do not think we’re in that boat this year (though I have not looked ahead).
The thesis is not that explicit, but there is one.
The paper could fit our session if other papers like it emerge.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

Another excellent abstract by our old friend, Ken. It is thorough, breaks new ground, and is a paper that coincides with ETS’s theme this year. If not with us, the paper should be on the program somewhere.
I would be open to having Ken present for us again this year (last time he presented with us was in 2021).

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

A very good abstract and topic. This paper explores ground that I am not that familiar with; I would like to see more on Schlatter after being exposed to him in graduate school. The paper is more historical theology than church history (which is welcome).
In general, the topic fits with CHT since 1700. I think this paper should be somewhere on the program.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

This is a solid topic on Edwards, yet this work has been done. It would have been helpful had the abstract noted what is unique about his interpretation of the Protestant nature of JE on justification vis-a-vis others who have argued the same.
Topic fits with our group, CHT since 1700.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

The abstract flies high over the details, which is a drawback. I felt better once I saw who the author is. Myk Habets is a systematician who has done good work on pneumatology and historical theology. My guess is that this work is a historical theological prequel to constructive soteriology that will prominently feature theosis. With its historical orientation in the last half century, it fits within our section CHT since 1700. If we do not take this, it should appear on the program.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

A dense and well-articulated abstract that breaks new ground. This will be a great paper. It fits with our group and should be on the program if we do not pick it up.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

I like this topic; Barnes was widely influential and not much work is done on him. This paper would fit with our section. It should appear on the ETS program.

04/18/2024

robert.caldwelliii

This looks like it will be a great paper. I want to hear it!

04/18/2024

m.haddad

Sounds like the paper will cover quite a lot of ground.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

What a fascinating approach.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

Such a creative approach. Thank you.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

Looking forward to hearing this paper, and praying we can!

04/18/2024

m.haddad

Exciting proposal. A fascinating approach to women’s leadership memorialized in Scripture against women’s contributions ignored and thinned in later centuries. As Craig Keener and others suggestion, Scripture elevates women unlike any text from antiquity.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

A history that needs telling, to be sure.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

This should be a book!

04/18/2024

m.haddad

Unity is certainly prized by the NT as a worthy goal and one well worth pursuing. A great topic to consider! Yet, the approach here might articulate a clearer structure or trajectory in attaining unity, and testing/determining whether it has been achieved.

04/18/2024

m.haddad

This paper seeks to reexamine the meaning of head through revisiting the “literal and figurative” concepts of kephale for women and men and its implications for egalitarian and complementarians. It is not especially how this approach is unique?

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

A lot to put into one short paper, but good premise and content

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

Would have been helpful to included specific ‘clothed in Christ’ verses as most of them are ethical in context – walking in love, etc.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

Good practical connections to contemporary gender issues in the church.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

A well-worn debate, but it might offer a clear view of the exegetical field, and it would be interesting to see where he lands.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

Great biblical and practical topic. It would be helpful to also discuss examples from within church history to demonstrate the significance, success, and necessity of this role.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

Interesting proposal, bringing to light the hidden role of women in the abolition of slavery.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

Very interesting historical topic.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

A very significant but generally overlooked verse. Excellent for inclusion of women as followers of Jesus, the Rabbi.

04/19/2024

adesolaakala

The proposal has raised important questions, but the approach seems to be more conversational than academic. A clear framework is needed, and possibly references to works that have tackled this issue of unity and finding common ground.

04/19/2024

bsmith016

I heard this paper at the SW regional and it was excellent. I believe he wont the paper prize too.

04/19/2024

bsmith016

I heard this paper at the SW regional and it was excellent. I believe he won the paper prize too.

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Not an entirely outdated proposal, but not very interesting among the proposals

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Pick one, Patrick. 🙂

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Might be interesting

04/19/2024

bsmith016

I like Alexander’s work but I don’t think this is interesting or unique enough

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Might be interesting

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Would be interested to hear this one

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Good

04/19/2024

bsmith016

Thesis doesn’t feel settled to me but could be interesting if executed

04/19/2024

Greg Forster

Apparently “comment cannot be blank” so I’m putting this here.

04/19/2024

Greg Forster

Apparently “comment cannot be blank” so I’m putting this here.

04/19/2024

Greg Forster

Apparently “comment cannot be blank” so I’m putting this here.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Until the last sentence of the proposal I was going to give this a lower rating. My fear is that there is an OT Theology gloss being applied to what is otherwise a straight Hosea paper. But if the last sentence becomes key then it could be OK.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Not a great thematic fit but does seem to be trying to integrate material in a helpful way.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

It moves towards our theme, and to the extent that Esther is often marginalized in OT Theology I would like to have it represented. But I am worried about positive / negative binary.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Fits theme well and draws in a range of materials. Only concern is that it might be trying to do too much in one paper.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

There’s lots here that definitely could be interesting, especially given Heiser’s views on systematic theology, but its not really on theme.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Looks like a strong proposal that is grounded in the text but explores them from a synthetic theological perspective.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Not on topic, but a potentially interesting paper, but would only include if we don’t have enough on topic.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

Far too much for a single paper, and I am not convinced that it is offering OT Theology.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

It would be stronger if the proposal drew out the political implications of the proposal more directly, but this has potential.

04/19/2024

dgfirth

The paper itself seems fine, but this is surely not the right place for it – not sure how this contribute to OT Theology beyond the exegesis of a specific passage and it does not address the theme.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic. proposal seems hard to fit into 30 minute paper

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

seems largely to repeat what has been done. Not sure what is new

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

nice proposal and important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic, poorly written proposal does not give confidence in the quality of the paper

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like an interesting paper

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I recommend the other paper be accepted and not this one

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like an overly ambitious topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

seems overly optimistic and slightly polarizing

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

nice proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

An important topic, but I’m not sure ETS is the best venue

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

an interesting and important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

If the paper intends to provide a new definition, I think it should be in the thesis.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

yes

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

what is the thesis?

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

looks like an interesting topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

could have potential

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

The proposal appears overly ambitious

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

thesis?

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

odd to criticize an historian for not being a biblical scholar

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

due to the ongoing influence of Sproul’s book, perhaps a critical interaction is appropriate

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not sure what is new here

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I’d love to hear more

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

an important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

accept the other paper and reject this one

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I’m confused by some of this

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

accept this one and reject the other

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

reject this one in favor of the other

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

what is the thesis?

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good topic.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

accept the other paper

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

excellent proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not convinced

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

an important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

well written proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

reject this one in favor of the other

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

has good potential

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good abstract

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not clear what the thesis is

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

the abstract could be clearer; I’m not completely sure what is being asserted

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

i’d love to hear more

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

the paper promises survey

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

proposal could be clearer

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not clear what the thesis is

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal from a senior scholar

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I’d love to hear more

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

accept the other proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

an important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

overly simplistic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

could be clearer

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I’m confused

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

proposal could be clearer

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting. good proposal

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

A substantive look at a significant current issue.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good topic although the proposal seems very ambitious

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

has potential

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

could be a good paper

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Looks interesting; the abstract could be sharpened a bit.

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Well constructed, though it doesn’t indicate what scholarly sources it will engage. Should be in the program.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

excellent proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

full disclosure (in case it’s not clear): this is from my student

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

i like it

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Likely too broad to do justice to all of the issues raised, but an important engagement, and worth including if focused.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

I wish the proposal went further

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

another full disclosure: Keith is my student. He does excellent work and has presented several times at both regional and national ETS

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

a lot of information in this proposal

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

An important topic to address at ETS, but the abstract is very basic and doesn’t indicate with whom the author will engage.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

an important topic

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not seeing anything new here

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Excellent acquaintance with the secondary literature
Excellent support even from Augustine’s lesser known works
Adequate enunciation of proposal thesis

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

pretty optimistic in scope

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

not clear how this will work

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

interesting proposal

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Could be interesting, though it suffers from the problem of painting evangelicalism with much too broad a brush. Also, the ‘recommendation’ is not sufficient to instill confidence in the paper.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

proposal could be clearer

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

This looks interesting and compelling.

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

excellent proposal

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Good statement of thesis
Important topic in South Asian context
Well-developed argument
Undeveloped interaction with secondary literature

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

accept the other one

04/19/2024

glenn.kreider

good proposal

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Interesting and fresh approach to the question of polity and where it belongs.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Imprecise proposal thesis
Little interaction with secondary literature beyond Rutledge
Interesting and pertinent topic

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

I’m a bit concerned that the recommending supervisor has not read the paper according to his statement.

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

I agree with Gary’s assessment regarding the lack of clear indication of a concrete allusion. It looks like he’s got a clear method and thesis though.

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

I’m pleased with the recommendation from DeRouchie.

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Solid paper and should be included in our program on global evangelicalism.

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

Some concern that the recommendation focuses on the student more than the paper. No clearly discernable method and also quite a few additional allusions thrown in there at the end.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Clear thesis and argument
Excellent interaction with other positions
Clear biblical and theological argumentation

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

Solid recommendation, full membership status probable by ETS, and good topic.

04/19/2024

Ken Magnuson

Looks like a strong presentation (even though I’d quibble with several fine points), and I like seeing engagement with standard topics in ethics alongside more ‘cutting edge’ topics.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Proposal from world class theologian
Interesting and pertinent topic
Clear theological argumentation

04/19/2024

Bryan Murawski

Intriguing premise.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Clear thesis
Interesting and pertinent topic
Clear theological argumentation

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Clear thesis
Little interaction with secondary literature
Interesting topic

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Adequate thesis
Little interaction with secondary literature
Ambiguous biblical and theological argumentation

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Limited interaction with secondary literature
Adequate proposal thesis
Interesting topic

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Clear thesis and argument
Excellent acquaintance with the secondary literature
Interesting and pertinent topic

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Confusing thesis and argumentation
Good acquaintance with the secondary literature

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

For our section, this could be a helpful book-level BT paper w/ theological implications.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Substance here, but trying to do quite a lot.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

May be a good exegetical & intertextual focus for the open section.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Seems substantive enough for an ETS paper, but trying to pull together a host of threads. Perhaps not a good fit for the BT session.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Certainly a bold and pertinent idea
Unfortunately, it strikes me less as a theological proposal and more as a roadmap for racial recommendation–which, btw, is a good thing. And it almost reads as a promotion for Restory Us Travel Seminar.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Could be promising, but could also fail to land.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Substantive enough for the program. I’m not sure there is enough methodological precision here to be able to land the sweeping assessments he’s wanting to make about the prophetic arrangement.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks interesting. If the focus here is exegetical (rather than surveying scholarship), it could work for the BT session (also strong reccs from Porter & Boda).

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Clear thesis and argument
Seems to be a classic restatement of compatibilism and the decree against recent antagonists
I wish I saw something unique

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Interesting topic, but perhaps more at home in an open section.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Perhaps a better fit in a Systematic Theology or Ecclesiology open section.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Could work for the conference. For our group, its scope may be too broad for a single presentation.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

The topic is fine but the thesis seems very basic (perhaps too inductive w/o a clear sense of what this study contributes to).

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Unclear thesis
I wish the proposal had given us a hint of the argument
Interesting and pertinent topic

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks like an interesting topic (the thesis is perhaps still a little broad).

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

This could be interesting, exploring a question prompted by John’s Gospel as a whole but probing a particular exegetical issue. Has a clear focus.

04/19/2024

paul.thorsell

Murky thesis but clear argument
Little interaction with secondary literature except for Owen and Vermigli
Interesting and pertinent topic

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks like an interesting exploration of the method question w/ a clear focus. Could complement our session, especially if some of the other papers have a Gospels orientation.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

I’m unsure about the stated method here.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks like substantive enough for the conference; though, this tracks really closely with our papers from last year’s open session.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Maybe more at home in SYSTH. But also, several of the statements here are imprecise formulations.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

I may be wrong, but this reads like the prompt for a class project. I’m not sure it’s going to be ready for an ETS presentation.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Substance here, but the parallels being drawn are quite well-established and also general. Perhaps not focused enough for our group?

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks like there’s enough substance here for an ETS paper, but it looks to focus exclusively on the historical comparative work in 2TJ. I’m not sure his abstract draws a strong enough connection to Revelation/NT theology to be a good fit for the BT group.

04/19/2024

ched.spellman

Looks interesting, but more at home in a SYSTH open section (or contemporary historical theoogy).

04/19/2024

martin.culy

Not a good fit.

04/19/2024

martin.culy

Appears to be a rigorous analysis of an issue that might impact how a challenging passage is understood.

04/19/2024

martin.culy

Looks very solid to me and is right in line with the purpose of the NTGLE.

04/19/2024

martin.culy

Sounds intriguing. Although not a typical presentation for the NTGLE, applying linguistic analysis to the GNT to address questions of intention certainly fits with our focus.


Number of reviews: 401

Average rating:

star star star star star